For Immediate Release

April 28, 2013

Gateway Motorsports Park


Stouffer, Phillips and Allen Highlight Gateway Winners Roster


Madison, Illinois – The first ever event for the Mickey Thompson Shootout Series faced some tremendous challenges at Gateway Motorsports Park thanks to more than a half an inch of rain that soaked the St Louis facility.  A complete programmed was crammed into six action packed hours that saw Jon Stouffer of Neosha, Missouri taking a historic first win in the Pro Mod category.


Stouffer faced off against St Louis driver Jerry Hunt in the eight car final.  Stouffer’s 3.89 second elapsed time at 188.70 miles per hour beat Hunt’s 3.941 run at 194.32 miles per hour to take the title.


Other event winners include Scott Lowery in Pro Street, Junior Surface in Bad Boy 8.5, Mark Woodruff in Super Street and Kit Long in Real Street.


Also in competition was the Gateway Motorsports Park E.T. Bracket series.  Granite City, Illinois driver Jason Phillips continued his hot streak and took his second win of the season in Super Pro over Mark Hallaran.


Derek Allen of Waterloo, Illinois defeated Clay Tyler of Bethalto, Illinois in Pro bracket.  Mike Davis of O’Fallon, Missouri scored the win in Sportsman over Aaron Worstell.  Nick Holshauser of Edwardsville, Illinois took the win over Phil Humphrey of Collinsville, Illinois in Super Pro Bike.  And, rounding out the show, was Rick McCarter in Street Motorcycle who defeated Humphrey, who came up just one round short in both motorcycle classes.


The next Gateway Motorsports Park E.T. Bracket Series event is Saturday, May 11.  The Mickey Thompson Shootout Series returns to Gateway on August 23 and 24.