MADISON, Illinois (October 12) – Chevrolet fans spent a memorable weekend at Gateway Motorsports Park as the track hosted the annual Mid-America Chevy Dealers Present The Annual Super Chevy Show. The all-Chevrolet event included a car show (featuring more than 100 classes and awards), a cruise, drag racing for Chevrolets and Chevrolet-powered cars, special attractions and a manufacturers’ midway.

Mid-America Chevy Dealers Present The Annual Super Chevy Show drag race results:


Drive Duracell Bracket 1 (Super Pro)

Winner: Donovan Thompson (Waverly, Illinois) 1986 Firebird with 468 cu. In. Chevrolet engine — $2,500 to win.

Runner-up: Eric Booker (Liberty, Illinois) 1968 Nova.

Bracket 2 (Pro)

Winner:  Adam Penning (Hermann, Missouri) 1989 Mustang with 370 cu. In. LSX engine  – $1,750 to win.

Runner-up: Kevin Carter (Chicago, Illinois) Chevrolet Nova (427 cu. In.).

DOT/Street Sportsman

Winner: Gary Lewis (St. Ann, Missouri) 1969 Buick Skylark with 326 cu. in. LS Chevrolet engine.

Runner-up: Brandon Sanders (St. Clair, Missouri).

Super Quick

Winner: Jim Hugget (Florissant, Missouri) Dragster.

Runner-up: Ken Jones (Walnut Hill, Illinois) Dragster.

Chevy vs. The World

Winner: Corey Landolt (Hermann, Missouri) Dragster.

Runner-up: Mike Shanks (Union, Missouri) 1976 Camaro.

Jr. Dragster

Winner: Keith Kramer (St. Peters, Missouri).

Runner-up: Nicholas Moten (St. Louis, Missouri).


Corvette Trophy: Dale Hillman (Belleville, Illinois) 2011 ZR1.

Camaro Trophy: Mark Dulle (Belleville, IL) 1969 Camaro.

Truck Trophy: Terrell Barnett (Mexico, Missouri) 1992 Chevy truck.

Stick Shift: Kenneth Sanders (St. Louis, Missouri).

EFI: Jason Thomas (Herman, Missouri).

The Bonus Bracket Bash was held on Sunday following the Super Chevy Show. Five classes were contested: Super Pro (1/8 mile), Pro (1/8 mile), Sportsman (1/4 mile), Trophy (1/4 mile) and an all-run Jr. Dragster event (1/8 mile). All races were non-points events.

Bonus Bracket Bash Super Pro – $2,650 to win

Winner: Chris Calkins (St. Clair, Missouri) .010 5.660 sec./121.43 mph.

Runner-up: Ken Jones (Walnut Hill, Illinois) .009 5.731 sec./121.04 mph.

Bonus Bracket Bash Pro – $1,750 to win

Winner: Randy Weller (Granite City, Illinois) .019  6.498 sec./103.87 mph.

Runner-up: Dustin Bryant (Litchfield, Illinois) .072 6.494 sec./105.12 mph.

Bonus Bracket Bash Sportsman – $250 to win

Winner: Danny Ratulowski (Highland, Illinois) .036  13.030 sec./102.88 mph.

Runner-up: Ted Lipka (O’Fallon, Missouri) .067 12.057 sec./110.28 mph.

Bonus Bracket Bash Trophy Class

Winner: Shannon Griffin (Centralia, Missouri) .023  11.963 sec./101.26 mph.

Runner-up: Corey Woods (Alton, Illinois) .292  14.290 sec./94.72 mph.

Bonus Bracket Bash Jr. Dragster

Winner: Blaine Miller (Eudora, Kansas) .040  7.989 sec./82.94 mph.

Runner-up: Keith Kramer (St. Peters, Missouri) .035 7.846 sec./83.52 mph.

NEXT EVENT: Oct. 17-18 – St. Louis Superbucks Showdown. The winner in each day’s final round of Super Pro eliminations could earn a $10,000 payday and the Pro bracket winner faces a potential $5,000 prize. Super Pro racers who enter the unique Illinois Lottery Run for the Money event have the opportunity to win a prize that could reach hundreds of thousands – if not millions – of dollars. The entry fee for the Illinois Lottery Run for the Money is $20.  The driver who runs closest to his dial-in will receive 50% of the total entry fees collected and $500 worth of Illinois Lottery scratch-off tickets.

– John Bisci

The vision for Gateway Motorsports Park is to create a racing lifestyle that attracts enthusiasts, professionals, amateurs and car lovers by harnessing the energy and passion of the thousands of racing fans in the heart of the Midwest. Located just five minutes from downtown St. Louis and covering nearly 200 acres, GMP is the largest outdoor entertainment facility in the region, encompassing a ¼-mile NHRA-sanctioned drag strip, 1.25-mile NASCAR oval, 1.6-mile road course, a state-of-the-art Karting facility and a new, multi-purpose dirt off-road venue.