April 2, 2016, St. Louis Region – The NHRA-sanctioned Dragplex at Gateway Motorsports Park completed the second round of its 2016 ET Bracket Racing Series tonight. Scott Cook of Festus, Missouri, defeated Tim Reid for Super Pro honors.


James Thurston, last week’s Super Pro winner, claimed the 2015 King of the Track title. The race was rained out last year and held over to this season. The Wentzville, Missouri, driver defeated Hayabusa rider Scott Leonard of Glen Carbon, Illinois, for the 2015 title. The 2016 NHRA King of the Track event is scheduled for Sept. 4.


Byron Kinne of Canton, Illinois, landed in GMP’s new Domino’s Pizza Victory Lane after cutting a perfect reaction time of .000 to defeat Jeremy McKague (Chamois, Missouri) in the Pro final. McKague cut a near-perfect light of .006 but Kinne’s 1988 Mustang prevailed.


Tonight’s other class winners included: Aaron Hagen (Sportsman), Charles Willis Jr. (Super Pro Bike), Bill Laut (Trophy), Caleb Cox (Street Car Heads-Up), Jake Matternich (Jr. Dragster Thunder) and Collin Boehmer (Jr. Dragster Lightning).



April 8 (Friday) — JEGS Super Quick & Bracket Test ‘n’ Tune.

April 9 (Saturday) — JEGS Super Quick & Bracket points race No. 3.  Jr. Dragster race No. 3.

April 10 (Sunday) — JEGS Super Quick & Bracket points race No. 4. Jr. Dragster race No. 4.



Final-round results, indicating racer, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, elapsed time, top speed:


2015 NHRA King of the Track

Winner: James Thurston (Wentzville, Missouri) Mustang  .009  6.137 sec. 107.45 mph.

Runner-up: Scott Leonard (Glen Carbon, Illinois) 2002 Hayabusa  .105  5.989 sec. 119.12 mph.


Super Pro

Winner: Scott Cook (Festus, Missouri) 2015 Racecraft dragster  .007  4.907 sec. 134.55 mph.

Runner-up: Tim Reid (Gillespie, Illinois) 2006 Nelson dragster  .039  5.228 sec. 130.03 mph.



Winner: Byron Kinne (Canton, Illinois) 1988 Mustang  .000  5.953 sec. 113.88 mph.

Runner-up: Jeremy McKague (Chamois, Missouri) 1997 Stubby dragster  .006  5.892 sec. 115.90 mph.



Winner: Aaron Hagen (High Ridge, Missouri) 2001 Firebird Formula  .071  12.464 sec. 97.15 mph.

Runner-up: Derek Allen (Waterloo, Illinois) 1994 Camaro  .046  14.170 sec. 96.13 mph.


Super Pro Motorcycle

Winner: Charles Willis Jr. (Collinsville, Illinois) 2002 Hayabusa  .030  6.346 sec. 111.93 mph.

Runner-up: Eric Cooper (Martinsville, Illinois) 1975 Kawasaki  .015  5.602 sec. 119.55 mph.



Winner: Bill Laut (Pevely, Missouri) Mustang  .449  13.416 mph 104.31 mph.

Runner-up: Deb Schneider (Collinsville, Illinois) 2001 Camaro  1.290  22.560 sec. No mph.


Street Car Heads-Up

Winner: Caleb Cox (Arnold, Missouri) 2011 Mustang  .349  9.615 sec. 143.05 mph.

Runner-up: Greg Boschert (St. Louis, Missouri) 1966 Mustang  .146  22.560 No mph.


Jr. Dragster Thunder

Winner: Jake Matternich (Independence, Missouri) 2003 Halfscale  .032  9.169 sec. 67.80 mph.

Runner-up: Sarah Stewart (Washington, Missouri) 2002 Motivational  .101  12.473 sec. 49.48 mph.


Jr. Dragster Lightning

Winner: Collin Boehmer (Festus, Missouri) 2003 Motivational  .002  8.156 sec. 76.06 mph.

Runner-up: Paige Hogle (Granite City, Illinois)  .028  8.238 sec. 79.24 mph.


For more information, please call GMP at (618) 215-8888 or visit www.gatewaymsp.com. Follow GMP on Facebook and Twitter.


The vision for the new Gateway Motorsports Park is to create a racing lifestyle that attracts enthusiasts, professionals, amateurs and car lovers by harnessing the energy and passion of the thousands of racing fans in the heart of the Midwest.


Located just five minutes from downtown St. Louis and covering nearly 200 acres, Gateway is the largest outdoor entertainment facility in the region, encompassing a ¼ mile NHRA-sanctioned drag strip, 1.25-mile superspeedway, 1.6-mile road course, a state-of-the-art Karting facility and a new 14-acre, multi-purpose dirt off-road venue.